MINUTES

CITY OF LAKE WORTH BEACH

SPECIAL CITY COMMISSION MEETING – ADVISORY BOARD APPOINTMENTS CITY HALL COMMISSION CHAMBER TUESDAY, AUGUST 01, 2023 – 5:00 PM

The meeting was called to order by Mayor Resch on the above date at 5:04 PM in the City Commission Chamber located at City Hall, 7 North Dixie Highway, Lake Worth Beach, Florida.

ROLL CALL: (0:36) Present were Mayor Betty Resch; Vice Mayor Christopher McVoy and Commissioners Sarah Malega, Kimberly Stokes and Reinaldo Diaz. Also present were Interim Assistant City Manager Jamie Brown, City Attorney Elizabeth Lenihan and City Clerk Melissa Ann Coyne.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE: (0:56) was led by Commissioner Reinaldo Diaz.

NEW BUSINESS: (1:19)

- A. Advisory Board Appointments
 - 1. Business Advisory Board (2:30)
- Action: Motion made by Commissioner Malega and seconded by Commissioner Stokes to appoint Erin Allen, Hannah Crawford, Amy Gill, Sam Goodstein, David Mathews, Jacob Roedsens and Camila Zavala to the Business Advisory Board.
- Vote: Voice vote showed: AYES: Mayor Resch, Vice Mayor McVoy, and Commissioners Malega, Stokes and Diaz. NAYS: None.
 - 2. Community Redevelopment Board (9:31)
- Action: Motion made by Vice Mayor McVoy and seconded by Commissioner Stokes to appoint Drew Bartlett to the Community Redevelopment Board.
- <u>Vote:</u> Voice vote showed: AYES: Mayor Resch, Vice Mayor McVoy, and Commissioners Malega, Stokes and Diaz. NAYS: None.
 - 3. Construction Board of Adjustments & Appeals (13:12)

There were no applications received nor appointments made.

- 4. Education Task Force (14:16)
- Action: Motion made by Commissioner Stokes and seconded by Vice Mayor McVoy to appoint Ellen Ashford to North Grade Elementary, Melissa Landis to South Grade Elementary, Allan Nosworthy to Barton Elementary, Lindy White to Lake Worth Middle School and Jay Silpe to Lake Worth High School for the Education Task Force. Sacred Heart and Highland Elementary members would be appointed in the near future.

<u>Vote:</u> Voice vote showed: AYES: Mayor Resch, Vice Mayor McVoy, and Commissioners Malega, Stokes and Diaz. NAYS: None.

5. Electric Utility Advisory Board (28:17)

<u>Action:</u> Motion made by Commissioner Malega and seconded by Commissioner Stokes to appoint Theodore Belloise to the Electric Utility Advisory Board.

<u>Vote:</u> Voice vote showed: AYES: Mayor Resch and Commissioners Malega, Stokes and Diaz. NAYS: Vice Mayor McVoy.

6. Finance Advisory Board (30:00)

<u>Action:</u> Motion made by Vice Mayor McVoy and seconded by Commissioner Stokes to table appointments to the Finance Advisory Board.

<u>Vote:</u> Voice vote showed: AYES: Mayor Resch, Vice Mayor McVoy, and Commissioners Malega, Stokes and Diaz. NAYS: None.

7. Library Advisory Board (35:40)

Action: Motion made by Commissioner Stokes and seconded by Vice Mayor McVoy to appoint Danielle Rivera to the Library Advisory Board.

<u>Vote:</u> Voice vote showed: AYES: Mayor Resch, Vice Mayor McVoy, and Commissioners Malega, Stokes and Diaz. NAYS: None.

8. Planning & Zoning Board (39:02)

Action: Motion made by Commissioner Malega and seconded by Commissioner Stokes to appoint Juan Contin and Dave Mathews to the Planning and Zoning Board. The other two appointments would be made in the near future.

<u>Vote:</u> Voice vote showed: AYES: Mayor Resch, Vice Mayor McVoy, and Commissioners Malega, Stokes and Diaz. NAYS: None.

9. Tree & Landscape Board (46:00)

<u>Action:</u> Motion made by Vice Mayor McVoy and seconded by Commissioner Stokes to appoint Benjamin Jungles and Priscilla Hallowell to the Tree & Landscape Board.

<u>Vote:</u> Voice vote showed: AYES: Mayor Resch, Vice Mayor McVoy, and Commissioners Malega, Stokes and Diaz. NAYS: None.

10. Waterways Board (49:03)

Action: Motion made by Vice Mayor McVoy and seconded by Commissioner Diaz to appoint Emily Billings, Sean Cabrey, Thomas Conboy, Amy Denicolais and Sue Welch to the Waterways Board.

<u>Vote:</u> Voice vote showed: AYES: Mayor Resch, Vice Mayor McVoy, and Commissioners Malega, Stokes and Diaz. NAYS: None.

11. TPA Citizen Advisory Committee (52:29)

Action: Motion made by Commissioner Stokes and seconded by Commissioner Diaz to appoint James McCormack to the TPA Citizen Advisory Committee.

<u>Vote:</u> Voice vote showed: AYES: Mayor Resch, Vice Mayor McVoy, and Commissioners Malega, Stokes and Diaz. NAYS: None.

ADJOURNMENT: (54:19)

<u>Action:</u> Motion made by Vice Mayor McVoy and seconded by Commissioner Stokes to adjourn the meeting at 5:58 PM.

<u>Vote:</u> Voice vote showed: AYES: Mayor Resch, Vice Mayor McVoy, and Commissioners Stokes and Diaz. NAYS: None.

Betty Resch, Mayor

ATTEST:

Melissa Ann Coyne, City Clerk

Minutes approved September 5, 2023.

Item time stamps correspond to the recording of the meeting which is available on YouTube.